spare a cigarette?

the night is numbing
his hopes are crumbling
and all he asks is for
a lit cigarette

nails hued to yellow
such an odd fellow
and all he asks is for
a lit cigarette

the night’s so cold
she never caresses me
like she used to
the sights grow old
a natural sepia
eyes are turning blue
and the end is turning red
an indent on the concrete where i lay my head

im starting to see
things that are make believe
im starting to hear
the devil whisper in my ear
im starting to feel
my knees bending begging for gods will
so please brother
wont you do this one favor for me
and spare me a cigarette

you could even cut it in half
my spoonful is a teaspoon
ive lost my way i cant even do simple math
ive been howlin at the moon

so can you do me this one favor for me
and get me an inch closer to heaven

Leave a Reply

