sunday wash

I just wanna take off all your clothes
So I can have a full load
I hope the washer doesn’t explode
When I overfill it with soap

Take off that scarf covering your throat
Skipping breaths, trying to stay afloat
Mixing lights with darks and watching fiber soak
Like this washer will spell out our antidote

Transfer these garments to the dryer
These prices are high but you can take me higher
higher
Higher

Iron out the wrinkles in my brain
Calm my abstract thoughts to plain
Until we have to start the cycle all over again
You said you like it dry and you enjoy the pain

I tell you to throw me in as well
Fold back and make contact with the tiniest of my cells
I hope you get the message from my mRNA
Hang me in the closet at the end of your day

Leave a Reply

